Ostomy Lifestyle Question (September 2016) – Vision Problems and Ostomy Care

Ask an Ostomy Lifestyle Expert > Ostomy Lifestyle Question (September 2016) – Vision Problems and Ostomy Care

Ostomy Lifestyle Question (September 2016) – Vision Problems and Ostomy Care

Question

I have a question for you. I am a student Occupational Therapist working on a school project regarding ostomy care. I have a client who is having difficulty with putting on her ostomy bag due to progressive vision loss (macular degeneration). She finds that she has difficulty placing the wafer correctly surrounding her stoma, as her inaccurate placement (due to impaired vision) causes it to leak. I was hoping you could inform me of any tips, tricks or current products that I can pass onto my client to help accurately place the wafer on her skin.

Thank you very much for your input and I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Response

Thank you for your question. Currently in my research, when an ostomate has a challenge such as poor eyesight or arthritis for example, there is not a lot of public information in support of tips and tricks available at this time. There are some very good products available from the ostomy manufacturers that help with leakage, but one thing to bear in mind with all ostomy products is that our bodies are very individual, and because of that, a product which works great for one person may not work as successfully for another.  For example there are seals which could help your patient, but is it convexity that may be an issue, or it could be a result of a number of problems.